Homemade Strawberry Jam

Yesterday, my mom and I took my niece & nephew (Emily & Jacob) to the opening day of Afton Apple’s strawberry picking season. It was a hot and muggy day, but we still managed to pick 13 pounds of strawberries! My mom did most of the picking. Here’s our bounty…
Image
We proceeded to make strawberry jam using the recipe found in the box of Sure Jell.
Image
First, I removed the stems and washed all the strawberries.
Image
Then, I crushed the strawberries using the Pampered Chef’s can strainer¬†because I don’t have the potato masher (that’s what a KitchenAid mixer is for) that the instructions called for. The can strainer worked beautifully!
Image
Per the Sure Jell directions, I combined 2 cups of crushed strawberries and 4 CUPS OF SUGAR! I could not believe it required THAT MUCH sugar. This concoction was mixed for 10 minutes.
Image
Halfway through mixing, mom started the Sure Jell–combine 3/4 cup water with 1 packet of Sure Jell and bring to a boil. Boil 1 minute then mix it into strawberries and sugar. Stir for 3 minutes.
Image
Once we were done mixing the Sure Jell into the strawberries and sugar, we were ready to put our strawberry jam into old glass jars. I love being able to re-purpose old jam and jelly jars.
Image
My mom put jam into 3 baby food jars for her 3 oldest grandchildren, Jacob, Emily, and Silas. Here is Jacob & Emily with their jars–they love it!
Image
Here’s another picture of the 2 monsters with all the jars we filled…
Image
And last, but not least, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the fact that I accidentally spilled about 4 cups worth of crushed strawberries on my floor because I wasn’t holding on to my Ziploc bag…
Image
I told my mom that this picture reminds me of her favorite show, “Dexter.”

Leave a Reply

