DIY: Santa Hand Ornament & Santa Onesie

Due to the fact that my hubby and I are expecting our second child soon and cash is tight, we decided to go DIY for this year’s Christmas presents for our parents. My friend Ashley had shared a post about making salt-dough hand ornaments painted like Santa–I immediately screen-captured it and went to work!
The ingredients are simple: 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup salt, 1/4 water
The instructions are even simpler: Mix together ingredients, make child’s imprint in salt-dough, make a hole in dough to hang ornament from ribbon, cut off the excess dough, bake at 200 degrees for 3 hours. I recommend baking the ornaments on wax paper–the first batch I made stuck to the cookie sheet and looked really gnarly on the back.

Here’s how they turned out!
Image
Image
I put my hubby to work with his mad painting skills! He is a better artist than I am.

In keeping with tradition, I dressed up my son as Santa again this year, but on a budget. Last year I was able to buy a Santa suit that fit his one-month old body… This year,instead of buying a onesie, I made my own!
Image
I used 50% off coupons at JoAnn’s to get my supplies and followed a design that I found online…
Image
I think it turned out fantastic!

One final note: with the start of the New Year, I’ve decided to participate in the Picture of the Day challenge once again! Every week, I will make one blog post with all of my POTDs (I post them on Facebook, too, but, you have to be my friend to see my photos). Happy New Year!

Leave a comment